The Student Room Group

Anixety/Depression. Can I apply for college?

I turned 24 in November and I am yet again stuck in a rut and can't break out. I have been at applying for college for a good few years yet the thought of interviews etc just cripples me. (I also have an issue with getting lost. If I've never been somewhere etc I basically have a mass panic attack about how I'm gonna get lost and die, I've had it for years, I can't stop it.)

I'm looking at applying for Edinburgh College for Photography because it's pretty much all I've wanted to do since I was 14. I have basically self-taught myself all I know just now and have been really lucky with the success I've had in my town/surrounding areas so far but now I'm at the point where I really want to learn/.

I want to go and be taught the things I don't know and have trouble understanding, I want to be able to go to a place where there are people like me who have a passion for making art.

The only thing is my anxiety is holding me back, it literally feels like barbed wire around my throat and chest and whenever I even think about applying my brain just spirals out of control.

oh what if I dont get accepted?
but what if i do get accepted? and they want to interview me and I need to take a portfolio.
how do I make my portfolio?
Where in Edinburgh is the campus?
I've never been to that side of Edinburgh, I'm gonna get lost or be late and they'll be angry and I wont get a place. What if they hate my portfolio and think I'm crap?
What if I get accepted and get there and I don't know what I'm doing?
What if I'm the stupidest human in the world?
What if I dont understand anything?
What if everything I've taught myself is wrong and a lie and everyone is better than me and I fail?
What if everyone thinks I'm useless and stupid?
I'm going to fail and die.