The Student Room Group

Confused about benefit entitlements!

Hi guys, I'm just trying to get my head around my situation for next year as I need to know before I find somewhere to live...

I live with my partner (18) who will be starting a part-time access to uni course in September, who is currently receiving ESA. I am a full-time student, from a fairly low-income background who therefore receives a fairly high amount from student finance with diagnosed depression and anxiety who doesn't receive any kind of benefit for this.

Currently, my boyfriend lives rent-free at my shared accommodation after being kicked out by his parents but next year, we have to move out as my landlord is fairly negligent (has left a ceiling absolutely covered with mould for almost an entire year- i have asthma so this is really bad) and isn't letting his house to students next year.

My question is, will we be entitled to housing benefit, and if so, will my student finance affect is greatly? If it does, I can supplement it through my own money but it would make things fairly difficult. Secondly, as we don't claim currently, what would the situation be in regards to claiming housing benefit for the property we find? Would we be able to claim in advance so the money is there for when we move in or can we only apply once there?

sorry it was so long-winded, but any help will be appreciated as I am panicking (especially as so many people won't take DSS yet we are respectable people)
Original post by Laurenx123x
Hi guys, I'm just trying to get my head around my situation for next year as I need to know before I find somewhere to live...

I live with my partner (18) who will be starting a part-time access to uni course in September, who is currently receiving ESA. I am a full-time student, from a fairly low-income background who therefore receives a fairly high amount from student finance with diagnosed depression and anxiety who doesn't receive any kind of benefit for this.