The Student Room Group

being forced to do heavy lifting at work

ok so i work in retail in a toy shop and when i applied for the job the description was mostly customer service based which is what i am good at. I love everyone at my work so much but the only problem with my job is that they make me do a lot of heavy lifting. I am a 5ft2 female and very skinny and definitely not strong at all. I am probably the tiniest at work and there are over 30 of us.

However I am always being made to carry huge boxes around that are probably bigger than me and today I was given a list of jobs, all of which included lifting extremely heavy shelves from the warehouse, carrying them down the stairs because the lift is broken and fixing them onto the backing boards. Now I can fit shelves but the ones I was meant to do today involved climbing a really tall ladder whilst holding the heavy shelving and then balancing that shelving on one hand to slot it in. I was almost in tears at the amount of times i hurt myself and nearly dropped it on myself because it was too heavy.

My manager couldn't care less, when I asked him for help he just told me I was weak. There's so many other workers who could lift these shelves I just think it was unfair that all my jobs included putting up heavy shelving which I clearly struggle with. Is it wrong that i feel like this? should i have expected to get these kinds of jobs and is it the same in other areas of retail?
Reply 1
Original post by Anonymous