Hey! Sign in to get help with your study questionsNew here? Join for free to post

Edexcel Biology, Chemistry and Psychology?

Announcements Posted on
Would YOU be put off a uni with a high crime rate? First 50 to have their say get a £5 Amazon voucher! 27-10-2016
REMINDER: Do not post your personal statement on TSR, otherwise you may have to rewrite it from scratch. Click here for more info. 11-10-2016

Hey everybody. I am an international student who would like to write AS & A level exams privately in order to make admission processes easier in UK universities (i.e. if I have a chance to follow my dreams).
    So I just finished my grade 10 in a national board, and would like to homeschool/online school myself in the UK board for my last two years of high school (i guess that would be equivalent to sixth form in the UK). I would probably also write my national board exams to make things easier in college admissions, if I end up studying in my homeland.
    After doing a bit of researching, I found out that my country does CIE and Edexcel private exams. I am learning more towards doing Edexcel exams in BIOLOGY, CHEMISTRY, PSYCHOLOGY and maybe ENGLISH.
    Being a clueless student, I have some doubts.
    1)How many units are taken for each of the above mentioned subjects?
    2) How exactly are the papers set?
    3) Is there any aid (like past papers, online tutoring, online websites etc) provided for the students to prepare for the exams?
    4)How is the level of difficulty?
    5)How friendly are the textbooks?

I am not quite sure about how all of these goes, but in the application form, these were the units given for the specific subjects.

(Pls note: all of these are for edexcel exams)

GCE syllabus
     6BI01: Lifestyle, Transport, Genes and Health
     6BI02: Development, Plants and the Environment
     6BI04: The Natural Environment and Species Survival
     6BI05: Energy, Exercise and Co-ordination
    (GCE syllabus)