Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Do you think the reason you wanted to become a doctor was a good one?

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016
REMINDER: Do not post your personal statement on TSR, otherwise you may have to rewrite it from scratch. Click here for more info. 12-10-2016

Hi everyone,

I am a PhD student in Molecular Biology hoping to apply to medicine in 2017. I have been wondering a lot about what a good reason is for wanting to become a doctor. What were your reasons for wanting to become one? And now that you are a doctor, do you think your reasons for wanting to become one the 'right' reasons?

Oh dear... this question being asked on the day that the new JD contract was published in full...
    I will try to remember why I chose this as a career and post a reply when I've calmed down a bit tomorrow !!

It makes me feel so sad and scared that doctors and the NHS are going through this nightmare! working for the NHS right now is not for the faint hearted but the patients need you now more than ever. I know this because my partner is currently in the process of being diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. The future looks bleak and scary- especially when you see everywhere that the NHS may be no more and the doctors so angry, stressed and tired.
    I am definitely on your side and whatever reason it was for wanting to become a doctor, thank you for being one.

The first thing I will say is that lots of applicants are intimidated by the perception that you should be guided by one great "reason" for wanting to be a doctor. This clearly isn't true for the vast majority of applicants and I would start out by thinking in terms of reasons rather than a single moment when you were called to the profession.... When I applied, the main reasons were that I enjoyed:

1. learning - and every day is a school day in medicine...