Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

English and History help!

University Navigation

Announcements Posted on
Would YOU be put off a uni with a high crime rate? First 50 to have their say get a £5 Amazon voucher! 27-10-2016

I currently hold an offer at Goldsmiths for English and History but also hold an offer at QMUL for Comparative Lit. I want to study history at Goldsmiths and wanted to know if it would be difficult for me if I haven't done History A level.
    Because QMUL wouldn't allow me to do a joint honours with History because of this.
    Can any current student tell me how difficult it is and how the support is at goldsmiths and how lenient they are at their grade requirements

Thanks in advance

Hello! I'm currently in my final year doing English and History at Goldsmiths, and there's no reason you wouldn't be able to handle the work! They have particular courses in first year that are aimed at giving you a broad overview of Historical approaches and theories anyway, so you get taught the basics (though it helps to have an interest!). Also, loads of people choose to do humanities degrees in university without having studied those subjects for A Level - most sixth forms and schools don't offer Anthropology A levels for example. They provide you with lots of reading that will really enlighten the course for you, and if you're ever struggling there are lots of support networks for you here, from your personal tutors, to PALs (peer assisted learners), to your fellow students.

In terms of grade requirements, I know that they ask for ABB, but I've heard stories of them letting people in on BBB, though I can't say for sure whether that's the case! Either way, throw yourself into revision and coursework and aim for the ABB just to be safe.