Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Giving up completely. University, life, everything!

Announcements Posted on
Why bother with a post grad? Are they even worth it? Have your say! 26-10-2016

I am in such a horrible state of mind, I just don't know what else to do any more. I am a second year university student, studying a course that I do not even think I want to progress further into and my grades are just absolutely rubbish. Last year, my grades were on track, but this year grades really do count and I am currently getting between B and C, only today I just found out I got a D from an assignment I thought I worked hard on.

I have been up since 5 this morning thinking about my life. I am currently pregnant and I am happy but I am scared of the future, about how I am going to provide for my little one because I don't want to rely on benefits. I have worked before and I have paid my taxes, by the way! I have my partner's support but he cannot do it all by himself! I'm really at loss. Here's the options I am thinking of:

Option 1:
    Apply for interruption of studies at university for a year, and while I am off for the year - have my baby, but also study alongside an HSC Level 3 towards an NVQ Assessor pathway (which is what I have always wanted to do, and still thinking about doing it now) and then decide whether I want to leave university for good, depending on how the latter is going.

Option 2:
    Stick with university, despite the probability of getting bad grades and potentially achieve a 2:2 or even a 3rd class honours as well as looking after a baby, suffering from bad grades and getting no prospects in the future. A waste of extra 9k tuition fees and also maintenance loan (which I wouldn't have to pay back if I finished my degree).

Option 3:
    Do not go back to university. Leave and hope for the best that the pathway I am leading onto will help me in the future!

What do I do? :'(