Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Medical Indemnity Insurance

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016
REMINDER: Do not post your personal statement on TSR, otherwise you may have to rewrite it from scratch. Click here for more info. 12-10-2016

Hi Everyone

I am in my 1st year of Medical School and i went to a conference recently (Just to check out the scene). I got chatting to a surgeon and he said that i will need medical indemnity for NHS work which i understand. I know why you need it and what it is. But i am a little nieve on all of this so please don't judge. Can someone tell me what the process is for students and then F1 F2 CT1 CT2. Were people approached at university by big companies? What is the Cost? Who should i go too? Do i need it while i am on placement?

Thank You All

The MDU and MPS are the biggest two, plus the MDDUS in Scotland (you can also be a member if you work elsewhere but they don't have so much of a presence). Both of the former will usually turn up at your medical school at some point and encourage you to sign up. I'm not sure if you NEED it for placements as you should be covered by the university. Student membership is free, then for F1 it's usually £10-20 for the year. It then increases with your seniority/level of responsibility, and varies with specialty later on. I paid about £180 for the last year as an ST4 in anaesthetics, but a fully qualified GP would be paying several thousand.

You shouldn't need any insurance while you are a student as your medical school will have bought insurance on your behalf. If you go on an elective outside the UK, you can buy a short-term policy (or just join the MDU/MPS, which is usually a negligible cost while you are a student) in case you inadvertently get yourself into trouble overseas.