The Student Room Group

Would I get an offer? (Mature student)

I am a mature student (26) and I have already 3 A-Levels from 2013 in:

Economics A (344 UMS)
Business Studies A (334 UMS)
Statistics B (400 UMS)

I achieved these grades whilst working full time, self-teaching and taking care of disabled mother. Furthermore, I have recently been diagnosed with ADHD, which explains my focus in exams situations and actual learning.

During 2013/2014 I was studying at SOAS BSc Economics, I left the program as it wasn't the right program for me. So I had a 'false start' in term of my uni and lost my passion. This lead me to go traveling for a few years, which was needed as I needed to find my passion again and now I have just returned home I have found my passion to learn again. I am in a much better situation and have no distractions.

I plan on studying BSc Mathematics with Economics at (LSE, UCL,Warwick) and in the next year I will be self teaching A-Level Mathematics and further mathematics, which I am sure I will be able to achieve A* in both. Also, I might consider retaking one or two statistics exams to boost my grade. Which as a result would leave me with (If goes to plan) A*A*AAA.

My question is at the time of applying some of my result will be 3 years old, would that be a problem? And more importantly do you think my application would be considered by the mentioned schools I intend on applying too or am I being too ambitious?
You'll be applying through UCAS, which gives 5 choices. So, I say go ahead and apply for the 3 you mentioned above, with those grades you will stand a very good chance, and I imagine even with 3 year old results.
One of my results is three years old (Since I did the A-level in one year, and time has passed) and I have had no problems getting offers from Universities similar to the ones you are applying to.
Good luck :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by DepletingSanity