The Student Room Group

McDonalds rejection.

Applied to two McDonalds locations that are local, and this morning I got a email advising me that they won't consider me..
I have a 2:1 degree in Computer Science

My main question is do they actually reject people who are "over-qualified", maybe thinking they will move on very quickly?.

Its quite annoying and frustrating because from what it seems like they don't look at CVs and base their judgment of you through your answers to their vapid, half-witted questionnaire.

So do any current employees know if that is the case? Where they simply reject people based on being overqualified? I simply want cash and might even put down my highest qualifications being GCSEs

EDIT: I just got a call back for a job offer at Nationwide head office.. apparently I'm good enough to work for a financial institution, but not good enough to flip burgers...
Original post by hanzo
Applied to two McDonalds locations that are local, and this morning I got a email advising me that they won't consider me..

My main question is do they actually reject people who are "over-qualified", maybe thinking they will move on very quickly?.

Its quite annoying and frustrating because from what it seems like they don't look at CVs and base their judgment of you through your answers to their vapid, half-witted questionnaire.

So do any current employees know if that is the case? Where they simply reject people based on being overqualified? I simply want cash and might even put down my highest qualifications being GCSEs

EDIT: I just got a call back for a job offer at Nationwide head office.. apparently I'm good enough to work for a financial institution, but not good enough to flip burgers...

Stupid people are better at monotonous jobs, they have less of an attitude problem and cause less problems for their superiors whilst still performing their responsibilities (flipping burgers) to the same standard as a more intelligent person.
(edited 7 years ago)