Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Foundation medicine programme

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016
REMINDER: Do not post your personal statement on TSR, otherwise you may have to rewrite it from scratch. Click here for more info. 12-10-2016

Hi guys, I am currently studying biology, chemistry, maths and psychology. I want to go medicine and thought of applying for the foundation pathway. However I only have 3A's and 5 B's and am predicted CCCC in AS but I think I can raise my predicted grades if I do well in my AS exams (hoping for a ABBB). Reading other people's stats who are also applying for the foundation pathway, I don't think I will be successful.
    What do you guys think? Do GCSE's really matter?
    Any other information you guys have about medicine and foundation programmes then please let me know. Also I wanna hear your stories and how you got into medicine so enlighten me.
    Thank you

A lot of foundation courses are usually only for people that are not qualified for traditional entry and the grade requirements are usually the same. As you are studying chemistry and biology this would exclude you from applying. Its not supposed to be an easy back door into Medicine.
    In these programmes, typically students have good grades but did not take chemistry at A level, are ex-nurses or other health practitioner and people who have demonstrated aptitude to study medicine while not following the traditional route.

There are foundation programs however that accept lower grades such as Nottingham and Durham provided you come from some kind of disadvantaged background,

with requirements such as.

Group A
    • Living in a neighbourhood that is less advantaged in terms of income, education and other factors (we use a postcode tool to assess this).