The Student Room Group

can you get a good job with a 2:2 degree from a top 20 university?

I'm at University of Birmingham, currently ranked 4th in country for career prospects (consistently bubbling outside the top 15 in league tables). I'm not hugely bothered about 'grad schemes' or applying for a 'Top Firm' or whatever, I just want to be able to hand in my CV for a decent job without it being chucked in the bin.

I don't have my degree yet but I'm on the cusp between a 2:2 and a 2:1 (currently very stressed about it). I'm doing a Bachelor of Arts course if that makes any difference (so not a Science or Business or anything) in a core subject (English).

Basically the question is, does the reputation of the university you went to (i.e. a decent Russell Group) still transfer advantage when applying for a job, even if you've got a 2:2? Or am I severely disadvantaged regardless if I don't get a 2:1?

EDIT: I also have extenuating circumstances because I've had an ongoing medical problem which has impacted my studies - does that get taken into consideration when applying for a job?
(edited 7 years ago)
It will probably help a bit (especially if you are on the cusp and explain that), however most jobs are looking for 2:1s. But you'll find that in roles where there are fewer applications that they'll still look through your CV. A 2:2 isn't the end of the world and relevant work experience will definitely help your case.
Reply 2
Of course you can.
Original post by dean01234
It will probably help a bit (especially if you are on the cusp and explain that), however most jobs are looking for 2:1s. But you'll find that in roles where there are fewer applications that they'll still look through your CV. A 2:2 isn't the end of the world and relevant work experience will definitely help your case.

what do you mean by 'most jobs'?
Original post by MaskOfKeaton
what do you mean by 'most jobs'?