The Student Room Group

Dropping out of university at the end of 2nd year

Hi, I am a 2nd year CS student and I have decided to drop out of university. Before anyone tries to convince me otherwise, I should clarify that I do have a back up plan that starts in September (IT degree apprenticeship). I see this apprenticeship as a massive opportunity as I can actually work in my desired field and get a degree at the same time (even if that means uni for another 4 years).

I realise that there are financial ramifications if I drop out mid year like paying back grant/loan and I'd kinda like to avoid this. My plan is to stay as a student till the end of year which I guess is like August or something and then drop out. I am still of course going to sit my exams to keep up with the university contract, so I wont be slacking about. I am kinda debating whether or not to tell my adviser about my plan, I don't think he'll be too fond of it.

What I want to know is would this actually work? Has anyone else been in a similar situation and dropped out end of term? I also go to Glasgow uni currently if that helps. Any advice appreciated!
As a graduate who took 9 months to find a job, go for the apprenticeship. At least it will give you skills, experience and a much higher likelihood of getting a job in the end of it.
dont do it
Original post by jonuth
Hi, I am a 2nd year CS student and I have decided to drop out of university. Before anyone tries to convince me otherwise, I should clarify that I do have a back up plan that starts in September (IT degree apprenticeship). I see this apprenticeship as a massive opportunity as I can actually work in my desired field and get a degree at the same time (even if that means uni for another 4 years).