The Student Room Group

Exam Panic

I'm a year 13 student currently studying for my A levels in biology, chemistry and maths. Up until now I have been fine with exams-I mean, I got stressed but I always pulled through and achieved the grades I wanted.

But I feel that the stress of year 13 is getting to me. I have had biology and chemistry ISA's recently, and in neither of these have I done as well as I hoped to. The frustrating thing is, I worked my butt off for them and was really disappointed with my results. I feel that this has put me in a bad frame of mind for my upcoming exams because these results are almost hanging over me.

I am probably my own worst critic and perhaps I put myself under too much pressure. I want to get A*'s and if I don't get them I feel disapointed.

Suddenly I just can't cope in exams anymore. I see a question and I panic. I just can't think straight. Annoyingly, coming out of the exam I realise the answers to questions which were so simple, but due to me panicking, I was unable to answer.

I know I am capable of doing well, but I feel this 'exam panic' is really standing in my way. My mum has noticed that I have not been myself recently. I have been in tears for the last few nights as I'm really now crumbling under the pressure of A levels. I want to move on from my unsuccessful ISA's but they just keep replaying over in over in my mind.I'm thinking of all the things I should have written but didn't. I need to find a way to get over this exam panic that is standing in my way. I was shaking in one of my exams the other day and was almost in tears due to my panicking.

Any advice would be great, or maybe I am not the only one who is struggling with this problem?
Original post by Bluebubbles123
I'm a year 13 student currently studying for my A levels in biology, chemistry and maths. Up until now I have been fine with exams-I mean, I got stressed but I always pulled through and achieved the grades I wanted.