The Student Room Group

Yet another council tax question....(sorry guys)

First of all, i apologise in advance for this message, because its about council tax. And really cause im a student it should be simple. But i just wanna make sure im not losing my mind here, or just being stupid and missing something obvious.

So i open my email today and my landlady has sent a message, asking for £47 for council tax from all of us. I live in a house of 5-two of us (myself included) are final year undergraduates (i'll get back to this in a bit), one of us just finished post-grad studies a few months ago (so will probably not be exempt anymore as i understand), and the other two are phd students.

This was completely out of the blue. First time out landlady asked for council tax, ever, let alone from all of us. As a student I thought i was exempt, and as I havent finished my final exams yet (in the next few days...gulp) I figured I wouldnt be paying any. Also, there is no mention in our contract of who pays it (though as a tenant I can understand being expected to pay)

So am I wrong in thinking I shouldnt have to pay? I figure I should be a student either until i graduate (mid July) or until my University no longer thinks i am (which im taking as mid june, when my student id card expires). I'd really appreciate your help-have I missed anything here?

Thanks in advance
I'd refuse for the following reasons:
- You're a student so aren't you exempt?
- Not specific enough in the contract
- Seems all of a sudden, shouldn't this have started when you starting living there?
Original post by unknownaddition
I'd refuse for the following reasons:
- You're a student so aren't you exempt?
- Not specific enough in the contract
- Seems all of a sudden, shouldn't this have started when you starting living there?