The Student Room Group

Illegally drove and hit a car

There is small problem here.. I was driving at around 12:30am few days ago and I do not have insurance on the car and neither do i have a full license, I had driven quiet a lot back in my country. But I hit a car by the side, it was a scratch situation and I panicked, I continued driving and was about to stop when i saw the car i hit which was a taxi follow me so I continued driving to get of the rush as it was near train station and police would go around there, i continued driving to a street where i was about to stop and i gave several indicators to the taxi driver to follow me, but he over take me and stopped right in front of me. And to current, its been 6 days, he does know I had no license or insurance, so he is asking for money which is Β£670 that he wouldn’t tell police and if i don’t pay he will(I got the whole proof on my phone), but as a student I am not able to pay that myself and as he didn’t inform police within 24 hrs and is now hiding the crime of me driving underage. What problems could this cause for me if the police finds and what to him from the police’s side.

Ps. I am aged 17. And yeh it was a stupid idea driving my dads car without their knowledge.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Driving otherwise than in accordance with a licence - maximum of 6 penalty points, a Β£1000 fine and a driving ban.
Using a vehicle uninsured against third party risks - maximum of 8 penalty points, a Β£5000 fine and a driving ban.

Quite frankly, you are an idiot and deserve what you get. People like you are the reason insurance prices are so ridiculous, especially for young drivers.

You could go to the police and claim blackmail, but the taxi driver might just claim that you misunderstood and he just wanted money for the repairs. You would also get done for the above driving offences anyway.
Original post by Talon