The Student Room Group

PGCE - what else can you do with it (other than teaching)?

I'm currently studying my secondary PGCE (English) and to be honest the experience has totally put me off, and I can't even stomach the thought of applying for my NQT year next year. I have lost my passion for the subject and even with only 6 weeks left of the course I feel inexperienced and inadequate as a classroom teacher. That said, I have never quit anything in my life, so fully intent to see the rest of the course through, I'm just totally lost about what to do next year.

I've worked as a tutor before and loved the one-on-one time you get with kids. I've also worked in a secure children's unit as a teacher (placement) and loved that too, but you have to have a minimum of 3 years teaching experience to teach in a place like that. Has anyone got any advice?

I was considering doing a year's supply work and then doing my NQT year, would my NQT year then count as a 2nd year's experience? What else can you do with a PGCE qualification? Teaching abroad isn't really an option unfortunately and I'm worried about how limited a career tutoring might be. I'm still young but I want to be in a career where I have prospects.

Other info that might be relevant: I have a 2:1 degree in English Literature, studied Psychology and both English subjects (Language and Literature) at A Level and have a wide range of GCSEs. I've worked as a swimming teacher (unqualified) and lifeguard, and am also currently employed as a support worker for a private company that work alongside social services to provide support for vulnerable youths. I'm a committe member, photographer & social media manager for a small fundraising group for animal welfare (with a focus on huskies and Northern Breeds). I also have experience writing creatively in a variety of styles including novel, poetry and journalistic. Not sure if the extra info might help with suggestions?

Thanks for any help!