The Student Room Group

Gap year before applying to Veterinary Medicine?

Question is in the title...Thanks in advance:smile:
Reply 1
Hi there I am a second year vet student at the RVC. Lots of vet students take gap years and reapply for veterinary medicine. It often depends on individual circumstances. Often students apply and don't receive offers/ miss out on grades the first time round and therefore take a gap year and reapply. If you would take a gap year to improve your grades or resit modules that is always a good idea as you need to meet the universities criteria in terms of A-level grades or GCSE grades. However, if you want to take a gap year to travel etc, I would still recommend you apply. Lots of students do not get an offer the first time and therefore you could take a gap year and reapply. Also if you do get an offer the first time round you could always phone the university and ask them whether they would let you delay your admission for a year, therefore keeping your offer and getting to take a gap year. The university could still refuse this though, you could always ask universities about this prior to your application. If you are set on taking a gap year then that's fine :smile: just bear in mind when you do apply after your gap year you may not get an offer the first time round. Hope that helps :smile:
Original post by Vetstudent333