The Student Room Group

Transferring Uni after first year

Please help!
I am a first year student that is looking to change uni for various reasons (expenses, picked uni under wrong circumstances, course issues) with some questions:

A) how do I apply to a new uni? Am I too late in the year? I have emailed them my modules etc and the new uni is looking into it but will I eventually apply through UCAS? Or just communication with my preferred uni?

B) I have definitely not aced first year grade-wise. I have a couple of failed assignments within modules (but passed all modules) will this greatly affect my chances? Do I even have to submit this info? My new uni is substantially lower in league tables than my current

C) do I ever have to tell them I'm a transfer? Or can I just drop out and then reapply via UCAS with my a-levels

The uni is currently getting back to me on whether they will accept a transfer student with my a-levels and current modules at this point but any help with these questions, or any previous similar experiences would be greatly helpful!!

Thanks xxxx
Original post by hen12345
Please help!
I am a first year student that is looking to change uni for various reasons (expenses, picked uni under wrong circumstances, course issues) with some questions:

A) how do I apply to a new uni? Am I too late in the year? I have emailed them my modules etc and the new uni is looking into it but will I eventually apply through UCAS? Or just communication with my preferred uni?

B) I have definitely not aced first year grade-wise. I have a couple of failed assignments within modules (but passed all modules) will this greatly affect my chances? Do I even have to submit this info? My new uni is substantially lower in league tables than my current

C) do I ever have to tell them I'm a transfer? Or can I just drop out and then reapply via UCAS with my a-levels