Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Pyschology at Aberdeen

University Navigation

Announcements Posted on
Would YOU be put off a uni with a high crime rate? First 50 to have their say get a £5 Amazon voucher! 27-10-2016

Hi. I was wondering if anyone could give me more information about the psychology course at Aberdeen and the university and city in general. Would you recommend the city as a place to live? What are the best and worst things about the university? And what aspects of psychology does the course focus on?

Hiya, I am currently a psychology first-year student at the University of Aberdeen. I am originally from Germany and just came here for the university.

The university itself is absolutely great, especially with psychology. In the first year you focus on three aspects of psychology: cognitive psychology, developmental psychology, and biological psychology. You learn about different psychologists, the history of psychology, psychological theories, the anatomy of the brain, you learn about synapses, developmental stages, and even language. In addition to the lectures you need to attend different workshops, tutorials and practicals, where you do exercises to strengthen the material covered in lectures, and you also prepare group debates, which are a lot of fun. The professors here are very open and you can send them an e-mail any time and they will respond typically within a few hours, latest by the next day.

The university is a little like Hogwarts, at least the old parts. If you'll be studying psychology, all your classes will be on the same campus, so you won't have to walk for more then 5 minutes to get from one class to the next. Also, the AUSA (student association) is pretty active - sometimes you'll go to campus and they will hand out free coffee or free porridge.