Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

PhD in Humanities - hesitating between 2 universities in different countries

Announcements Posted on
Why bother with a post grad? Are they even worth it? Have your say! 26-10-2016

Hi all,

my name is Claire and I am posting on the forum for the first time!

I visited the forum plenty of times recently as I have been facing a quite challenging situation and I have difficulties making up my mind. I am originally a French citizen and I am planning to start a full-time Phd in Cultural Studies, ideally around September 2017.

I graduated with my Master's in Edinburgh, Scotland in 2014 and I live now in Amsterdam where I am working and saving up some money as I am considering self funding. Regarding the supervision of the Phd, I was already in contact with the supervisor of my Master's dissertation at the University of Edinburgh and he showed straightaway interest in supervising my phd. However, I haven't been in contact with him for a few months now as I wanted to take some time off to really think about my project and in order to write my initial proposal.In addition to that, I got into contact since then with the University of Amsterdam in order to inform myself about the conditions and requirements for Phd candidates and I learnt that they do not charge anything for self funded phd diplomas contrary to Scotland where the price is around 4 500 pounds per year. Because of that, I have been feeling very divided and I was wondering if anyone encountered the same situation.