Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Cardiff University - via Access Course in Business

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

First and foremost, hello everybody & I hope all is well. Iapologize in advance this may seem a little long winded but I am in need of advice.

I am currently in my last year of studying a HNC in Nautical Science alongside an Officer Of The Watch competency as an officer in the merchant navy. This job involved management skills and demands the use of mathematics on a daily basis.

I am currently on-board ship and have a lot of time to reflect. And upon reflection I have come to the conclusion nobody can work at sea forever and it would be a good idea to have a contingency plan in place .

I left school with decent GCSE grades but did not enjoy college so I left ( was young at the time ). Now I have matured and have decided to consider an Access course in Business to prepare me for a degree. As opposed to A levels the access course is more suited to me because I am now 21 years old and the access course is shorter. My studies for the HNC Nautical Science have been and continue to be very demanding , studying at least 9-5 everday and most exams require around 70% to pass as the maritime industry is demanding in regards to British Officers and their level of training
    My GCSE s are as follows :
    English language A
    English Literature B
    Welsh Second Language B
    Mathematics C
    Science C
    Additional Science C
    History C
    ICT C
    Religious Education Short Course C
    Welsh baccalaureate Intermediate
    Various Key Skills

I did reasonable in my grades , not as well as I would have hoped but at the time I didn't care.