Hey! Sign in to get help with your study questionsNew here? Join for free to post

English Literature with Edminzodo!

Announcements Posted on
Why bother with a post grad? Are they even worth it? Have your say! 26-10-2016

I highly doubt anybody is studying The Winter's Tale, but I'm going to make a thread of handy information just in case. It helps me to revise as well.

I'll be posting throughout the day, so if you have any requests, let me know!

And if I have time, I'll also write about Top Girls, another play I'm studying, as well.

Act One - Key Quotes

' . . . great difference betwixt our Bohemia and your Sicilia'
    - Archidamus (Act One, Scene One)

'We were as twinned lambs that did frisk i'th'sun'
    - Polixenes (Act One, Scene Two)

'But to be paddling palms and pinching fingers, / As they now are, and making practised smiles . . .'
    - Leontes (Act One, Scene Two)

'Go play, boy, play: thy mother plays, and I / Play too . . .'

'Sir Smile, his neighbor'

'Satisfy? / Th'entreaties if your mistress? Satisfy?'

Not a quote but Leontes' repetition of 'nothing', and his use of rhetorical questions as he becomes increasingly jealous and paranoid.

'You lie! You lie! / I say thou liest, Camillo, and I hate thee'

Posted from TSR Mobile

Information about The Winter's Tale

Performed as 'Florizel and Perdita' and the 'The Sheep-Shearing', occasionally in three acts, with the first half of the play neglected in favour of the second half
    'broken-backed drama, written in two distinct modes' - Wilbur Sanders
    'the strangeness of the transition [between Sicilia and Bohemia] is felt' - Wilbur Sanders
    Paulina acts as a kind of stage-manager to Hermione's survival, directing both Leontes (not to marry) and the others
    A masque (the dance of the satyrs in Act 4, Scene 4), was also used in another one of Shakespeare's 'late plays', The Tempest

The Winter's Tale - Synopsis