The Student Room Group

Confused by 'Academic References'

Ok basically I'm an undergraduate student having trouble in my Masters application for certain universities because they all want 'Academic References'. All the universities I am applying for are different to the one I'm currently studying at. Here are my problems:

1) How am I even supposed to get/send a reference? Do I just email my lecturer and ask him to write me a reference and email it back to me (shouldn't it be confidential)? Or am I supposed get him to send my reference directly to the universities I'm applying to (this seems to waste a lot of his time)? Or am I supposed to just list the referees name/address and then wait for the university to specifically ask for me to get a reference? Information on the uni websites is pretty unclear on this so I'm totally confused.

2) My lecturers at university barely knew me; There is only one (my dissertation supervisor) I even talked to at all. They don't even know my academic ability because all our work is anonymously marked. It seems kind of embarrassing asking for references from people I don't even know.

The application process for postgraduate is really infuriating, I have to say. Any help would be appreciate :smile:
Reply 1