Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Help! Considering a dramatic career change and need some advice

Announcements Posted on
Would YOU be put off a uni with a high crime rate? First 50 to have their say get a £5 Amazon voucher! 27-10-2016

Hi team,

This is a long one so please bear with me. I am a qualified vet, I graduated in 2015, after five years at uni and basically my entire life before that geared up towards becoming a vet. I stubbornly never let myself consider other career options, despite career profiling and teachers/parents etc telling me to, and always thinking at the back of my mind that I'd enjoy law. If I'm being honest I don't really enjoy being a practising vet and I'm having a bit of a crisis of direction. I could answer questions about career direction within my profession in my sleep so I'm hoping you guys can do the same for me with law.

Firstly, if this is something I think I might want to pursue, where do I even start with work experience, vacation schemes, TCs, GDLs etc etc? There are so many aspects to this that I don't really know what any of them mean or how they would relate to my situation, so please could someone shed some light on that. Secondly, is it realistic to study part time and keep up my job? I can't afford to not work and as far as I can make out you need a TC with a firm that will pay for me to qualify or you have to self-fund - I already have a mountain of student loans and I'm worried about racking up huge debts as obviously I won't qualify for student finance again as a post-grad. Also if anyone has any experience with changing careers to law, what routes you took, what motivated you/made you decide to go for it I'd very much appreciate hearing them.