The Student Room Group

Makeup products and tips for a beginner

I really want to try wearing makeup on a daily basis because i thought why not? So I wanted to know the basics and the best products that I should get across the board. I am a beginner and I kind of want to know more because I kind of suck at it so i could improve.:smile:
Reply 1
Original post by booksandcats
I really want to try wearing makeup on a daily basis because i thought why not? So I wanted to know the basics and the best products that I should get across the board. I am a beginner and I kind of want to know more because I kind of suck at it so i could improve.:smile:

Basics; Foundation, Concealer, Mascara, Eyebrows & Lips

If you have time on your hands; eyeliner & contour with highlight.

The best foundation i found is Makeup Forever ultra HD but if thats too expensive, Revlon Colourstay does the job

Concealer, Maybelline age rewinder is the best!!

Mascara, Loreal telescopic & maybelline lash sensational

Eyebrows; Abh - Anastasia Beverly Hills but if thats too expensive Sleek is perfect as well as the Freedom pomade

Lips; thats your own choice but my favs are ABH & Mac aswell as Colorpop

Contour; ABH or sleek contour or benefits Hoola bronzer

Highlight; ABH
I'm not an expert but I pile on makeup nearly daily so I have some knowledge of how to do make up. I normally wear foundation, mascara, brow pencil and lip balm. I'd say keep it simple. I use a beauty blender to apply my foundation because I always end up streaky if I use a brush. Also it depends on your skin type. If you have dry skin prime it well with moisturiser and if you have oily skin make sure you set your makeup with a good powder. My favourite makeup brand's are Too Faced and Urban Decay because they don't test on animals and their products are pretty good quality. If your on a budget then Sleek and Gosh are really good too. You'll improve at makeup the more you wear it because practice makes perfect.