The Student Room Group

I’m an IBM apprentice – what made me decide University wasn’t for me?

Hi Everyone :dance:

The next step after college is always a tricky decision. Teachers, Parents and
Councillors are constantly asking what you want to do when you are older :dontknow:. Being 18 and having to make a decision that can affect your life is a lot of pressure.

I faced the same struggles but I made the choice to go against the tides and pick an apprenticeship rather than the typical route of University. Out of my whole tutor group at college only 3 people, including me, were doing something other than Uni so it can be a hard choice to make. I am not here to bash Uni it is a good option for some people, just not me.

From when I was little, I liked the idea of earning money rather than having to pay to learn; but when getting older the idea of apprenticeships went away. But one week in February in my first year of college IBM came to our school to talk about their Apprenticeship scheme, and that same week I was going to look around Bath Uni. Just seeing both options next to each other I was clearly able to see the path I wanted to take. With an Apprenticeship at IBM I was able to earn while I learn, make a difference in a developing world of technology; get to work at one of the largest technology companies in the world, and still get a qualification that is worth a first year at degree level. So I can prove I could have gone to University but I just Chose to create my future a different way.

Don't be bogged down by this decision even if you choose one path now you don't have to stick to it. But don't feel you have to follow the crowd there is a lot of other options out there, you just have to look. :yes:

If you have any questions regarding the Apprenticeship scheme at IBM or choosing what to do, feel free to ask.

Good Luck.

Amy :smile:
Original post by IBM Apprentices