Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Supervisor Help

Announcements Posted on
Last day to win £100 of Amazon vouchers - don't miss out! Take our quick survey to enter 24-10-2016

Hello, I am in my third year PhD study and have started writing up. I have a full time job offer to start this October because I believed I could submit in September. However I have had a very uncomfortable journey with my supervisor and in the past few weeks she has driven me to tipping point.

For my final year I have moved back to my parents house (for personal reasons) and currently travel to the university every 3 weeks (supervisor said she was ok with this when i first asked). She was fine with this for the first few months. I have been funded for the duration of my phd and my funding runs out this September.

I have spoken to my second supervisor to ask to change for the remaining part of my phd, however he seems reluctant to do it and said that he believes it's best if I stick with my current supervisor as changing would take me "twice as long" to complete my thesis.

I have written a list of things she has done to upset me and I was just wondering if I am being unreasonable because it's really affecting my mental state.

- When I told her I got a job offer she was happy and insisted that I speak to them and get the company to invite her down for a talk so that they can fund her research (this was 1 day after i got the job offer).

-She sent unprofessional and hurtful emails to me when the company i will start working for didn't contact her for a reference.

-I felt like she has been quite passive aggressive in our meetings following the incident stated previously. She hasn't been giving me any direction. When I ask her what needs to be done to finish all she says is "You need to research and find out yourself".