The Student Room Group

Having QTS but no PGCE....

Hi all,

I'm currently considering my future career options and I'm wondering whether my plans will work or not.

To explain, I've been teaching exclusively at International Schools outside of the UK for a number of years. I completed a Master's Degree in Education at an International University outside of the European Union (though my first Bachelors degree is from the UK).

I have a lot of relevant teaching experience, I've successfully been teaching the International Baccalaureate Diploma Program (equivalent to A Levels), and I've now been offered a place to take the Assessment Only Route to QTS.

If I achieve QTS and become an NQT, "on paper" I see no reason why I couldn't return permanently to the UK and start my NQT year.

However, will any schools in the UK really be willing to take me on? Someone who will not have a PGCE or any real teaching experience in the UK?

Thanks in advance
Yes.
Many Universities/SCITT offer QTS-only routes at a cheaper alternative to a PGCE, and many of them go on to successfully become NQTs.
Some universities provide "PGCE top-up" courses where you can do the extra modules to gain PGCE.
Not having a PGCE won't bother schools, I don't think, but Im not sure about the lack of UK experience. That could be a barrier for some.
you all ready have a Masters in education - QTS is the key issue for UK practice, what does yet more level 7 actually gain you ?
Original post by TraineeLynsey
Not having a PGCE won't bother schools, I don't think, but Im not sure about the lack of UK experience. That could be a barrier for some.

But then don't all NQTs have very little UK experience?

Original post by zippyRN
you all ready have a Masters in education - QTS is the key issue for UK practice, what does yet more level 7 actually gain you ?

To be clear, I have a Master's Degree in Education but it was at a university outside of the EEA.