The Student Room Group

GCSE Psychology at Home?

hi, I'm in year 10 (I live in NI so I think that's the English equivalent to year 9?) and I'd be really interested in taking GCSE psychology, but it would be self teaching seeing as my school don't offer it as a course. I was planning on buying the textbooks and teaching myself the syllabus, and then entering the exams privately, but I have no idea how to go about this and I'm confused as to how coursework and controlled assessments would work. could anyone who has studied or is studying GCSE psychology, either at school or home, possibly lay out to me what the course is like in terms of coursework and controlled assessments etc? Also, if any self taught GCSE candidates could maybe say what is required to be a private candidate? if you could recommend any additional revision/guidance booklets as well, that would be fantastic. thanks so much in advance :smile:
Reply 1
I've just done the GCSE psychology totally self taught. I took the exam today. All I did was buy the book depending on your exam centre. Mine was AQA, so I read that book back to front. At least 10 times and did the exam tips in the back. Got the book used off eBay £10. Exam was £60 to book independently. That was the tricky bit. Finding a school that would let me sit the exam. But eventually I found one. I literally just rang up all the schools within a 50 mile radius to me and asked if I could sit the GCSE as a private candidate. Go onto AQA website and look at all the GCSE psychology past papers, print them and practise. It's not that difficult if you're dedicated. A lot on body language, memory and stereotypes. That sort of thing. Some of it basic common sense. I'm 35 and an accounts assistant. If I can take my hand to this. You can. Good luck! X
(edited 7 years ago)
Step 1 would be to choose your exam board as each one will offer different content and assessments.

The main 3 are:
AQA (http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/psychology/gcse/psychology-4180)