Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Warwick Business School is the UK equivalent of which American universities?

Announcements Posted on
Last day to win £100 of Amazon vouchers - don't miss out! Take our quick survey to enter 24-10-2016

Hey folks,

I am interested in the MSc Finance program at Warwick Business School. One of the key reasons being I have really smart friends who went there and said many good things about it (e.g. the reputation, representative). But since I studied in the US, I don't know much about UK universities and hope you can help me put things in perspective.

From my own assessment, Oxford/Cambridge are like the UK equivalents of Harvard/Stanford, LSE is like University of Chicago, Imperial is like MIT and LBS is like Wharton.

How about Warwick? Is it fair to say it is like the American Kellogg?

I've read a lot of the forums here and while many say WBS is a top, target school in business/finance, some say it is overrated.

Your help is much appreciated!

Raging Bull

I've never heard of Kellogg so I can't comment on whether Warwick is anything like it. Persoanlly I think it is a mistake to try and compare UK universities to US universities in the way you've suggested, it implies there are significant differences between the top 5 business schools in the UK when in reality, there aren't. WBS is a prestigious business school in the UK/Europe, what more do you need to know?

Maybe Princepieman can offer a more informed opinion.