The Student Room Group

Please help ! Time needed of Uni ?!

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this and really looking for some help/reassurance. I begin Uni in Glasgow in sept for adult nursing. However, I have to go for surgery end of October ( I only found out last week ) it is a pretty major surgery and im expected to be absent for about a month, I won't miss any placement but I will miss lectures obviously.

When speaking on forums etc Ive pretty much been told the uni may not accomdate this. I'm pretty worried and stressed. Can anyone offer advice ?
Original post by Myspngs94
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this and really looking for some help/reassurance. I begin Uni in Glasgow in sept for adult nursing. However, I have to go for surgery end of October ( I only found out last week ) it is a pretty major surgery and im expected to be absent for about a month, I won't miss any placement but I will miss lectures obviously.

When speaking on forums etc Ive pretty much been told the uni may not accomdate this. I'm pretty worried and stressed. Can anyone offer advice ?

It's sometimes easier to miss placement than lectures as the time can be made up, whereas with missing lectures there are only so many teaching hours and NMC registration requirements have to be met. Lectures are really important at the beginning of the course as you're learning about basic care, A&P, legal aspects, ethics and also have a lot of mandatory clinical skills, moving and handling, basic life support etc. and you wouldn't be allowed on placement without these.