The Student Room Group

DNA Fingerprinting Ethical Issues

Hi,

I am studying A2 Salters B chemistry and I have my chemistry of materials exam tomorrow. In some of the past papers I have done there are questions that ask about the ethical issues of DNA fingerprinting. However in each mark scheme there are always slightly different answers and I have never once been able to get full marks on these questions, I have read every book I have available and tried to research this on the internet but I cannot find any surefire answers that could get me the marks every time. If somebody could help me that would be great. Here is an example "Give one advantage and one disadvantage of using DNA fingerprinting".

Thanks,
James
Original post by leewest_
Hi,

I am studying A2 Salters B chemistry and I have my chemistry of materials exam tomorrow. In some of the past papers I have done there are questions that ask about the ethical issues of DNA fingerprinting. However in each mark scheme there are always slightly different answers and I have never once been able to get full marks on these questions, I have read every book I have available and tried to research this on the internet but I cannot find any surefire answers that could get me the marks every time. If somebody could help me that would be great. Here is an example "Give one advantage and one disadvantage of using DNA fingerprinting".

Thanks,
James

I do it as well, 2015 paper markscheme has some and also one other paper in the 09-14 series but 2015 markscheme is the one they are likely to accept. I would go for the points they have on everyone. In 2015 they rejected personal liberty as it wasn't relevant to the question and so you must make sure, once memorising all the points,which points are relevant.

Jan 2010 markscheme: Question was that some people believe DNA fingerprints of innocent people should be removed, other people disagree. Suggest a reason for each view:
For removal:
-infringement of personal liberty