Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Do I have rights?

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

Not sure if this is the right place but here's my problem.

I applied for a job as a home care worker, I've never done anything like this before besides a bit of child minding. I went to the interview which was held by a trainee and was asked if I will be able to get a previous employment reference to which I said unlikely because I was out of work for some time due to health reasons so I gave a friend and my job advisor and was told straight away that this was ok. I got offered the job and was told I had to pay £50 on a dbs check, do 16 hours online training, 3 days of shadowing (which I was told I would be paid for), signed a job offer letter and even signed off ESA. It was also during one of this online training session that I got told by the trainee I need another reference, I said I couldn't get a previous employer one so she said could I get one from someone high up in their career like a dentist or doctor, I said no because I haven't been to either for some time but I could get my uncle who's a manger of a care home and again was told straight away from this trainee that this would be ok so carried on with the day of shadowing.