Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Office politics, where does it end?

Announcements Posted on
Four hours left to win £100 of Amazon vouchers!! Don't miss out! Take our short survey to enter 24-10-2016

So I started a new job a few months ago, and I've worked in an office before but only a year out of University, I'm still learning.

Another graduate of the same year at my office seems to like to make you feel bad for not jumping on the politics band wagon, how do I confront these?

First of all, I like to go out for my lunch. I like to walk, I like to smoke, I like to go to the shop. I like to eat. The other graduate told me they would feel guilty if they went out for lunch like I did because others work through it. But where did this culture of having a break but deciding not to take it become the norm? Is it even the norm? Do we really have to not take our contractual work break because others tell us it is wrong??!

Secondly, the office is closed later this month. Some people owe days and are contracted to come in. My days owed are booked up for later this year. I don't owe any days. However the same graduate said again, I should come in, because even though I don't have to work I should help out - because its part the job!

Somebody please tell me I'm not losing my mind here.

From an apparentley 'bad employee' x

First of all, is that other employee a senior?
    Are their seniors to him/her?

If there are seniors to him please, go and meet them.
    Explain your situation that you find it difficult to handle this employee and feel really annoyed.
    Remember it is your life and free style wherever you go. Do not listen to any employee who talks anything out of office work.
    You can smoke if there is a smoking room or you can do it outside at your ease when no one else is there so it won't affect others.