Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Questions on Brexit & Careers as an international student

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

Hi Student Room,

I'm an international student who is a bit worried about the outcome of Brexit and its impact on my potential career path.

I've always been looking forward to studying and ideally securing a job in the legal sector as a solicitor in the UK. However, I'm unsure what the implications of Brexit could spell out for me.

I've read a lot of articles by law firms and other pundits as to what it means for the UK and the legal sector as a whole, but I couldn't find anything specific for the implications of an international student trying to secure a job in the UK in a law firm.

Questions like:
    1. Is it likely that protectionist policies will rise and thus make it harder for international students to obtain a work visa after university.
    2. Due to the UK leaving the EU, will the large law international law firms shift their headquarters away, making it harder for international students in particular to get a job?
    3. Since the market is incredibly shaky, will the legal sector continue to go on a lean and hire less

I thought hopefully someone more knowledge could advise in this area! Thanks so much, and sorry for appearing like a hypochondriac.