The Student Room Group

Full time HCA and rejected for NHS Bank because of care certificate. PLEASE HELP.

Can someone advise on this?

I have 3 years experience of full time HCA work in a private setting which specializes in dementia care. I have certificates in manual handling, health and safety, fire training and protection of vulnerable adults. I do day to day care including hoisting, using stand-aids, slide sheets, attaching catheters, administering minor treatments etc.

I've just attempted to apply for NHS bank work and I've been rejected before I could even apply because the online system screens out applications where the applicant doesn't have a care certificate OR an NVQ 2 in health and social care. So someone with an NVQ 2 and zero experience could apply but I can't...

I've googled the care certificate and found all of the standards and work books along with a template of the certificate. It looks very simple to complete and needs to be signed off by an employer - it actually says the person signing it doesn't need any specific qualifications just experience of the work being assessed.

(for anyone else who is intereste, I found the documents here:http://www.skillsforcare.org.uk/Learning-development/Care-Certificate/Care-Certificate.aspx)

Can I take the list of standards and a certificate template to my manager and get them to sign it? Can I do this if they are NOT an NHS employer?

This just seems like jumping through hoops/a box ticking exercise to me but until I have this thing I apparently can't apply for my own job with a different employer (I also looked at non-NHS roles and they all want the NVQ2!!).

Thanks for anyone who can shed some light on this.
(edited 7 years ago)
Original post by KatieBlogger