Hey! Sign in to get help with your study questionsNew here? Join for free to post

Cfe Higher Geography - climate change

Announcements Posted on
Why bother with a post grad course - waste of time? 17-10-2016

Hi, I am currently studying climate change and I am not sure about the physical causes? if anyone could help this would be great thanks

(Original post by rabia999)
    Hi, I am currently studying climate change and I am not sure about the physical causes? if anyone could help this would be great thanks
    Hello! I studied climate change in AS Level Geography with WJEC. Some of the physical causes of climate change we learned about were:

Physical causes for short term climate change:

Volcanic eruptions
    Major volcanic eruptions are able to influence the climate. Volcanic eruptions that produce a lot of ash reflect solar radiation, making the climate colder in the short term by lowering average global temperatures before falling back to Earth.

Fluctuations in solar radiation
    The solar constant (total amount of energy received by earth from the sun) is not actually constant, and has varied by about 0.1% over the last 400 years or so. Sunspots are dark areas on the surface of the sun. An increase in sunspot activity seems to produce a slight increase in the solar constant and therefore warmer temperatures.

Physical causes for long term climate change:

Milankovitch cycles
    Eccentricity cycle - the shape of the Earth's orbit varies from a circular orbit to an elliptical orbit, over a 100,000 year cycle.
    • A circular orbit causes a decrease in seasonality – mild winters and cool summers. Not all of the snow melts in the summer, so this orbit produces glacial conditions.
    • An elliptical orbit causes an increase in seasonality – cold winters and hot summers. Snow melts in the warm summer, so this orbit produces interglacial conditions.
    Obliquity cycle - The tilt of the Earth's axis varies between 22.1° and 24.5° over a 41,000 year cycle.