The Student Room Group

Can I get a maintenance loan or not?

Hi really hope someone can help.

I have received conflicting information about maintenance loans :confused:
I rang SFE a couple weeks and was told I can apply for a maintenance loan towards living costs but at the open evening I attended this week for my prospective college their finance team told me I can not. Who is right? Without a maintenance loan I can not attend because I won't be able to afford it.

The course would be a Level 3 Extended diploma.

I am a mature student living alone earning less than £20,000 (which would be even less if I attend college because I will have to quit my full time job and get a part time one).

Many thanks.
Original post by HLC1909
Hi really hope someone can help.

I have received conflicting information about maintenance loans :confused:
I rang SFE a couple weeks and was told I can apply for a maintenance loan towards living costs but at the open evening I attended this week for my prospective college their finance team told me I can not. Who is right? Without a maintenance loan I can not attend because I won't be able to afford it.

The course would be a Level 3 Extended diploma.

I am a mature student living alone earning less than £20,000 (which would be even less if I attend college because I will have to quit my full time job and get a part time one).

Many thanks.

A level 3 extended diploma counts as FE study (and so isn't something you can get standard HE student finance for).

So no you can't get a maintenance loan.

If you were under 20 then you might be able to claim income support (https://www.gov.uk/income-support/eligibility )