The Student Room Group

Is it possible to work during nursing course?

Someone could adivse? Thanks
Original post by Misiaczekxxxx
Someone could adivse? Thanks

Most lecturers won't recommend it as if you take on too much you can quickly burn out. Saying that, most people do bank HCA or agency carer jobs. A lot of people also do bar work and so on, but if you take on a job like this it's important that they are flexible with shifts as you need to have placement as your first commitment and you need to follow the shifts you've been given from them. The key is to be careful about how many hours you take on and to know when to say no.
Honestly, I would say no if you are looking for a first degree. I did a Hospitality degree originally and only worked 16 hours a week but came out with a 2:2 because I literally did not have the time to dedicate to the assignments. I'm now going to be doing Nursing this year and it'll be even harder.
Many nursing students work part time as the bursary is simply not enough to live on.
You just have to be ridiculously organised and recognise when you need time off working and save up to try and use that money on placement so you then aren't working 60 hours a week or more.
It is possible to get a good grade, you just need to be really focused and use your time wisely.
It's 3 years and it goes very quick. So don't put working before you're uni work as you will just regret it.
The key is balance!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by Charlotte49
Most lecturers won't recommend it as if you take on too much you can quickly burn out. Saying that, most people do bank HCA or agency carer jobs. A lot of people also do bar work and so on, but if you take on a job like this it's important that they are flexible with shifts as you need to have placement as your first commitment and you need to follow the shifts you've been given from them. The key is to be careful about how many hours you take on and to know when to say no.