The Student Room Group

Maths A Level Advice

I currently have my heart set on taking Maths for an A Level along with Economics, Politics and History. I am a rather average student in maths and I am really not gifted in any way. Maths has always been one of my hardest subjects. I have to get an A in order to meet the requirements for my desired course (PPE at Oxford). Any advice?
Reply 1
Original post by JamesLeo
I currently have my heart set on taking Maths for an A Level along with Economics, Politics and History. I am a rather average student in maths and I am really not gifted in any way. Maths has always been one of my hardest subjects. I have to get an A in order to meet the requirements for my desired course (PPE at Oxford). Any advice?

It could be argued that Maths is one of the easier subjects to get an A in because of how objective it is compared to essay subjects. Have you just done GCSE? If so which grade do you expect to achieve?

what did you get at gcse?
I am looking to get 5/6 in the new grades (more likely 6) which is the equivalent to a high B and a low A. I reckon the requirement for Mathematics at my desired Sixth Form is a 5 which is the equivalent to a high C and a low B.
(edited 7 years ago)
Reply 4
I am looking to get 5/6 in the new grades (more likely 6) which is the equivalent to a high B and a low A. I reckon for Mathematics at my desired Sixth Form is a 5 which is the equivalent to a high C and a low B.

I reckon you should definitely choose to do it, especially if you want to do PPE as well, seeing as it would help towards the Economics part of the course. If you're willing to put the work in then you will most definitely succeed. It is very admirable that you are applying to Oxford and are setting your sights high. With this determination you will certainly achieve the grade you require :smile: