Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

PhD chances?

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

Hi guys!
    Five/six months ago, I made a post in this forum along these same lines. Since that time, I feel like my circumstances have changed, and wonder if anybody might be able to advise?

In short, I read a modern language degree, translation at MA, with 2-1 in BA and 58% in MA. Not fantastic. I realised really early in the MA that the course was wrong for me, but was encouraged by family to stay on, and chose to focus on an editorial career over that year, instead of my coursework. My source language also held me back a bit – I could translate on paper, but didn't feel comfortable with the intricacies of colloquial writing/speech. Oh well! Live and learn. It wasn't quite right for me. Editorial work is the way forward!

In the time since I graduated, my career has been on fast-forward. I've become a mentee on a prestigious editorial mentoring programme, have worked in numerous genres – including academic writing – edited long-term for a publication, and now manage a team of writers on a print magazine. I'm proud to say I'm actually the youngest editor in my company!

That's all well and good, but after a few months of sorting personal issues out in my head following my MA, I realised that I'd squandered a really fantastic opportunity. I always had this idea for a project in my head, relating to third culture kids/immigrant children and their language use, and never followed through. I can't be too hard on myself, I didn't allow myself time to debrief and consider my application following an undergraduate degree that was a real struggle. In fact, I panic-applied for my MA because I couldn't bear the idea of having to change visa categories – I've built a life in the UK, but am a Commonwealth citizen. I know, it sounds silly!