Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

No job is affecting my mental health

Announcements Posted on
Why bother with a post grad? Are they even worth it? Have your say! 26-10-2016

I have just finished university with a first class degree, i have been job searching for 3 month's now and have yet to find a job, even a part time one. I worked so hard all myself hoping that i would get somewhere better when i graduated, but no luck. I'ts not even like i was complacent when i was university, i worked full time throughout uni, the only time i took a break was the last 2 months to focus on my finals. Anyways, by the time i came back, management had changed and the new manager had hired other people to cover my shifts (i was on zero hours). My family is poor and my dad is a waste of space, he works and has money but never spends it on us, he didnt even want to pay for graduation tickets so i could not go. I just dont see if its worth living life, no matter how hard you work, you never get anywhere so whats the point of even trying.

Not having a job is really affecting my mental health and I really don't know what to do now

First of all, congratulations on your 1st. It's rewarding when your hard work pays off I'm sorry to hear about your difficulties however and know that it can be challenging when your work situation doesn't go as you hoped! I have spent my own fair share of time looking for jobs so can give you the benefit of my experience as it sounds like you're keen to get something asap.

You may need to adjust your "profile". There are loads of resources out there to help you. Reed for example, has CV and cover letter templates you can download and edit. TSR has some stuff you could check out too http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/cont...r=4041-careers