The Student Room Group

Which unis for Zoology?

Hi everyone!

I'm planning on studying zoology and I've looked into quite a few universities already. However, I'm finding it difficult to limit my choices to only five, so I would love to hear advice from anyone. I understand that what's most important is to learn about the courses and the universities myself but still, I think it's best to get as much information as I possibly can!:tongue:

These are the universities I'm considering at the moment:
Bristol
Manchester
Sheffield
Leeds
Nottingham
Birmingham
Exeter
Glasgow

Does anyone have any advice or thoughts on these unis? Are they all around the same level academically? I'm quite interested in animal behaviour, evolution, and maybe the ecological side of things. But I'm not as interested at a more molecular level, or anything overly biochemical. (Evidently, I'm not very good at Chemistry, haha.:colondollar: I'm not studying Chemistry at the moment either.) A more animal-focused course would also be nice, instead of Zoology courses that have lots of modules about plants.
It would be great to hear about any personal experiences from you guys!:redface:

Thanks!!!

P.S. I'm an IB student from Hong Kong
You really need to look at modules and course structure and work out which courses interest you most. No one on here can tell you what course is best for you. I wouldn't rule out studying molecular level stuff as it is required for your basic understanding of anything biology and you'd struggle to find a course that doesn't include it.
Original post by alleycat393
You really need to look at modules and course structure and work out which courses interest you most. No one on here can tell you what course is best for you. I wouldn't rule out studying molecular level stuff as it is required for your basic understanding of anything biology and you'd struggle to find a course that doesn't include it.