The Student Room Group
Students researching, Cardiff Metropolitan University (UWIC)
Cardiff Metropolitan University
Visit website

Help - private sector accommodation

I'm starting Cardiff Met in September as a postgraduate student (llandaff campus) and will be moving to Cardiff with my boyfriend but we don't really know where to start when looking for accommodation. The accommodation website says not to use letting agents because of fees and stuff, but the list they sent me of trusted landlords isn't especially helpful since there are no photos or proper descriptions of what the properties are like. How do people usually go about arranging private sector housing for Cardiff Met? Does anyone have any advice about where to start? We've looked on rightmove and stuff but there doesn't seem to be a huge range of affordable housing.
Reply 1
I just sucked it up and went through a letting agent (I'm a mature post grad). I got the same list, but most were for shared accommodation and I wanted my own place. I didn't have a lot of money to spend, but found something near my (the Cyncoed) campus for 450 a month and have moved in now. It's further out from the city centre, but well connected by buses so I was happy to make the compromise as it means I have easy access to my classes. Fees totalled £200 (plus my deposit which is refundable). There's quite a lot out there, but it can get quite pricey. My options were definitely less in my price range, but I managed and have a decent flat now. If you can, try and visit Cardiff to see the streets even if you can't actually view the flat. The gentrified areas are lovely, but the streets around it can be quite rough (even though the insides of the flats look nice) so you want to make sure you'll be comfortable living there.
Students researching, Cardiff Metropolitan University (UWIC)
Cardiff Metropolitan University
Visit website
Hello,