Hey! Sign in to get help with your study questionsNew here? Join for free to post

Title for MFL EPQ

Announcements Posted on
Would YOU be put off a uni with a high crime rate? First 50 to have their say get a £5 Amazon voucher! 27-10-2016

I'm struggling to come up with an idea for my EPQ. I'm currently studying French, Spanish, Latin and Economics and was hoping to do a topic based on Modern Forgein Languages and perhaps incorporate a linguistics aspect. Any ideas?

Ahh hello! I'm a linguistics/language nut, so hopefully I can give you a few suggestions and see if you like any of them?

- Child bilingualism/bilingualism: you study 2 languages, and an important area of linguistics is looking at how bilingual people think, how we learn new languages, how our brain deals with 2 languages etc. You could look at the effects of speaking 2 languages, and find a question surrounding that area?
    - Acquisition of language: another cool area of linguistics is looking at how we pick up languages, and you could do something about whether it's better to learn a language when you're younger or when you're older?
    - The effect of English on French/Spanish: looking at imported words and possible changes in the language brought about by English? I know someone who wrote a very interesting EPQ on the effects of loan words in Korean - I don't know Spanish as well as I know French, but there could be areas of the languages which are affected by English?
    - How French affected English: every aspiring linguist has done the whole "words associated with the upper class are derived from French, lower class from Anglo-Saxon/Germanic" (compare "beef" with "cow", "beef" from Old French and "cow" from Germanic), so you could look at the ways in which French influenced speaking and continues to influence speech today?