Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

End of year abroad in Japan- feelings

Announcements Posted on
Would YOU be put off a uni with a high crime rate? First 50 to have their say get a £5 Amazon voucher! 27-10-2016

Hi there. Thanks for reading. This question concerns my year abroad in Japan but please feel free to answer regardless of where you studied in the world

I'm a third year student of French and Japanese who is currently on his year abroad. I've spent the year studying in Kyoto at a university on a langiage course. I've got less than three weeks left before I go home and am a little worried about whether I'm ready to progress on to 4th year.

I've made a lot of progress while studying in Japan, and can see massive improvements in my many areas, particuarly my speaking ability. I'm far from perfect but I can hold a conversation (when I first arrived I didn't really say anything because I was worried about being wrong. I made a lot of effort to practice my Japanese and I can see results. Overall I would say I'm a good n3 level. I took the N3 exam a few weeks ago but don't know the results yet so I have no idea how I did.

However, even though I've made this amount of progress. I'll still worry I'm not good enough for final year. A lot of my friends in my classes here were stronger than me in many areas, and I was wondering if this feeling was normal at then end of the year abroad, and how to deal with it. I'm still planning on intensively studying by myself in England before final year starts to work on a few of my weaker points. So basically, are these feelings normal?

Thanks a lot, and sorry if I sound like I'm bragging here- it's not my intention.

Thanks again.

(Original post by 584forest)
    So basically, are these feelings normal?