Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Diagnostic radiography at Cardiff:a positive opinion

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

I recently read a really rather negative review of diagnostic radiography at Cardiff university and I would like offer a positive Yang to the negative Yin that has previously be offered for your perusal.

I recently graduated in diagnostic radiography at Cardiff and I LOVED my experiences over the last three years. YES, it was hard work, YES,Cardiff expect a certain standard and YES I would recommend this university. Everyone in my cohort that graduated went straight into full time employment, most of us having already secured a job by the Christmas of our 3rd year.
    I was a mature student and I worked really hard throughout my studies and the lecturers were very keen to encourage other students of a similar mindset. I found that if you put the effort in the lecturers were more than happy to help you whenever you needed it. also people who may be struggling are offered additional assistance if needed. There was always someone available on the end of the phone or email to help you with your queries. I struggled with physics and made full Use of the extra tutorials that were offered and also spent time with my personal tutor going through past exam papers to make sure I fully understood the subject. It was never about passing the exams, there was a definate interest in making sure I really understood these principles so I could apply them to my job.

Two people in my cohort received 1st class awards, it is an achievable goal. It should be hard to get a 1st shouldn't it? Isn't that the point? Others received additional recognition at graduation for their efforts and were awarded with the David Walters cup prize. It's not only about being excellent academically, it's about the effort you put in to your studies and your attitude to learning.