The Student Room Group

I want a change. University to Apprenticeship.

Hi everyone, I'm new here so apologies if I have posted this in the wrong section or haven't followed correct etiquette. Moderators are more than welcome to move this to the correct section to help with responses.

I'm from Scotland, Edinburgh, 20 years old and I have recently just finished College. I studied HNC Mechanical Engineering and achieved a grade A. I was enrolled onto this course as an 'Engineering Academy Student' from the University of Strathclyde. Being an 'Engineering Academy Student' at college basically means that you study your first year of university at college and attend practical activities at the University of Strathclyde throughout the first year (there was only like 4 sessions arranged by the university for us). Although I was studying my first year at college full-time, I was still a University of Strathclyde student and had full access to university facilities just like any other under-graduate student. The course is different from a regular HNC course studied at college because it requires you to study 4 extra units at college and you have to achieve a grade A to gain entry into the second year of your chosen degree programme in the department of Engineering. If you don't achieve an A then you can't progress into second year and would have to study a HND at college instead.