Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Ab-Initio Chinese at UoB

University Navigation

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

Hi everyone!
    I'm a Law student who has signed up for an open unit in ab-initio Mandarin Chinese for this coming year. I'm not of Asian origin and, while I have had some success studying European languages (A in Spanish at A Level, A* in French GCSE), and have a decent understanding of a Bantu language, I'm absolutely bricking AI Mandarin. I've heard that a lot of people who sign up to this course have already studied it before, whereas I will be a complete beginner, and I'm worried about balancing a new language with the demands of 2nd year Law. I'm considering changing to Spanish or French as an open unit instead.
    Has anybody got any experience in learning a language at university from scratch? Do the benefits outweigh the risks? Especially as my grades in this will count towards my degree classification...
    Thank you in advance!

Honestly, I don't see the point in doing one module in beginners Chinese on top of your university studies. It will be very difficult, time consuming and you won't learn much anyway. Even students who spend 4 years at university studying Chinese rarely graduate with anything close to real fluency, how much can anyone hope to learn from one open unit module?

Improving your Spanish or getting your French to A level standard will, I think, be much more useful than learning very basic Chinese.

Thank you so much for your advice, I definitely see what you mean and I agree!
Write a reply…

Submit reply

Thanks for posting! You just need to create an account in order to submit the post
  1. this can't be left blank
    that username has been taken, please choose another Forgotten your password?
  2. this can't be left blank
    this email is already registered. Forgotten your password?
  3. this can't be left blank